New here. So scared.

AmyD1310
AmyD1310 Member Posts: 59

Hi everyone. My name is Amy and I was just diagnosed with Squamous Cell Carcinoma Anal Cancer. I've been reading some of the posts here and they are helpful, but I'm absolutely terrified roght now. I am only 36 and I have 3 gorgeous babies that I need to live for. I am going for my first CAT scan tomorrow and then I will begin treatment. all I know right now is that my tumor is 3cm. I have been having a strange sensation in my right rib cage over the last 4-5 days and I'm wondering if I am being paranoid or if that means the cancer has spread? Any tips or advice would be welcome since I'm just beginning my journey. Also I welcome any good websites/articles to help get me through this. TIA.

Comments

• mp327
    mp327 Member Posts: 4,440 Member
    AmyD1310

I am sorry that you have been diagnosed with anal cancer, giving you a reason to seek out this site.  However, this is a good place for advice, information and support, so I'm glad you have found it.  We will support you and help you in any way we can.

If you need some encouragement, I will tell you briefly my story.  I was diagnosed in 2008 after experiencing some rectal bleeding.  I had the standard protocol of chemo/radiation for a 2cm. anal canal tumor.  Here it is almost 2017 and I am still here and doing quite well, all things considered.  This treatment has a high rate of success, so you have every reason to be hopeful that it will blast out your tumor.

I hope your CT scan will show that the tumor is localized and there is no spread.  As for the sensation in your rib cage, if anything is there, it will be found on the scan.  Hopefully, it is just a heightened sense of awareness, due to anxiety.  Having gone through what you are experiencing right now, I remember being much more aware of every little ache, pain, etc.  Hopefully, anything sinister will be ruled out and you will have some peace of mind in that regard.