Total Thyroidectomy or Lobectomy?

Options

Aloha,

I'm new to this network - joined recently after I received my biopsy results.  Apparently, I have MNG, with the primary nodule being approximately 5 cm (which is very large, I'm told).  The results of my FNA showed atypical, with Hurthle cell changes suspected and vascularity noted within the rim.  I have another nodule on my isthmus, which is 11mm and three other tiny ones.  Here's where I'm struggling:  on my left lobe, I have the large nodule and 2 other small nodules.  On my right, I have only one 2mm nodule.  My doctor is recommending a total thyroidectomy, but I'm not sure..?  If he takes out the isthmus and the left side, I will still have a right lobe with a tiny nodule (which may not even be cancer) and may be able to avoid synthroid (I'm told that there is an 80% chance).  I'm only 43 and not sure that I want to be on meds for the rest of my life if it can be avoided.  I understand that if they find cancer in the left lobe or isthmus, that they'll have to go back and take the rest of my thyroid out - this seems like a good plan to me (to keep half if it's healthy).  Am I being silly?  How can I decide what to do?  Any advice is appreciated. 

Mahalo nui loa,

Shawn

Comments

• tbjgreen390
    tbjgreen390 Member Posts: 1
    edited August 2017 #2
    Options
    thryoidectomy vs lobectomy

I am having the same issue.  I hope someone chimes in with any insight.

• smith221519
    smith221519 Member Posts: 3
    Options

thryoidectomy vs lobectomy

I am having the same issue.  I hope someone chimes in with any insight.

pros and cons