Proton therapy vs IMRT

dpdavis30
dpdavis30 Member Posts: 3

I have stage III a squamous cell carcinoma. I was wondering what side effects people have experienced from doing IMRT (radiation)? I am looking into doing proton therapy as well, but there is not a lot of evidence yet as to success from it. I welcome thoughts and experiences. 

Comments

• TraceyUSA
    TraceyUSA Member Posts: 316
    Hello & an unfortunate Welcome

I am sorry for the reason you are here but hope you find the information and support you are looking for.

I am 3 years post treatment for T2/N0/M0) squamous cell anal carcinomna.  I recieved the standard protocol treatment (33 radiations treatments with 5FU & Mitomycin on the 1st and last weeks).   It worked for me.  I've had clean reports thus far.  

I have no knowledge of proton therapy.

I see you have another post asking about side effects of radiation.  Everyone has different experiences.  I had what looked and felt like a bad sunburn in the radiated area (I used an aloe based gel given to me by my radiologist to help combat some of the skin issues), I never needed pain meds but many do.  I had diarrhea, no appetite, fatigue, mouth sores (from the chemo) and hair loss (from the chemo).  All eased shortly after treatments ended.  Treatment is not easy but it is doable and fairly short.

Best wishes, 

Tracey

• dpdavis30
    dpdavis30 Member Posts: 3
    TraceyUSA said:

Hello & an unfortunate Welcome

I am sorry for the reason you are here but hope you find the information and support you are looking for.

I am 3 years post treatment for T2/N0/M0) squamous cell anal carcinomna.  I recieved the standard protocol treatment (33 radiations treatments with 5FU & Mitomycin on the 1st and last weeks).   It worked for me.  I've had clean reports thus far.  

I have no knowledge of proton therapy.