I'm a newbie and have some questions

Things have moved very fast in the last 5 weeks. Had a lump in my groin and thought it was a hernia. Turned out to be Non-Hodgkin lymphoma. The one thing that has helped me out the most was something I read. It said look in the mirror and say I have cancer. Well it did help me,, 

I've been reading all the different post on here and I'm so thankful for everyone's post.  I have a positive attitude for now at least. We'll see when I start the chemo. Still have 1 more test on the 95th and my follow up on the 13th. That's when they I get the results from the bone marrow biopsy. 

One question, ok that's not true I have thousands of question. The one I have is about the port. At what point do they remove it?

Thank everyone for being so informitive. God bless y'all 

Comments

• Sten
    Sten Member Posts: 162 Member
    Port removal

Hi Vincevette78,

It is good to have a positive attitude. It helps.

Ports are there because they are practical. They are removed when no longer needed, which can vary a lot. You can ask the doctors about what they think in your case.

You are welcome to put your questions here. I and others will try to answer them all.

Lymphoma can be cured. I had highly malignant primary central nervous system lymphoma (PCNSL) in 2012, and I am now NED (no evidence of disease) since more than three years.

I wish you good luck!

Best regards,

Sten

• Sal0101
    Sal0101 Member Posts: 136 Member
    Port

vincevette78,

I finished R-chop plus methotrexate treatments in January.  I am thinking about having my port removed after my next scan in June, but quite frankly it's not bothersome, easy to access, and I don't have to worry about the veins in my arms.  I am grateful I had it through my treatment.  I'm NED for now, but if my lymphoma returns I would not hesitate to have another port put in if I do indeed decide to have it removed. 

Good luck with your treatment!  Stay strong! We are here!