Dental problems long term

Options

Good Morning, 

Newbie here to this site. Lol! Haven't said that for awhile since I'm 58. Anyway, I was diagnosed with base of tongue cancer in 2011. Went through 44 treatments of radiation to the head and neck. Now going on 5 years since, my teeth and gum problems are still a very important part of my day. The pain is at times unbearable. I still take morphine twice a day and Oxy as needed for the pain. It generates on the left side below the ear and radiates along the jaw line up to and past the right ear. The pain meds do not take the pain away completely but they reduce the pain to a 5-7 on a scale of 10. I am not a candidate for hyperbaric procedures because of the problems I've had with my ears in the past. 

So....what am I doing here? Looking for options for my teeth. They were not the best before treatment but they were not the worst either. I mean they were not " Hollywood" ....all bright white straight level... But they were ok. I have had 12 root canals, 5 ground down to the gums, 7 fillings and I do not know how many are beginning to decay as of today. 

So...what are other people doing.... Dentures? Implants? Veneers?. I was told that I could not have any pulled as the hole in the gum would never heal and infections would happen. 

Any advice or options would be greatly appreciated, because it seems that I am starting to get concerned about what lies ahead in regards to eating. 

Comments

• Mikemetz
    Mikemetz Member Posts: 465 Member
    Options
    Can you say "Prothodontist"?

I am just starting the process of replacing the several teeth I've lost since being diagnosed and treated in 2009.  I had a jaw resection on the left side, so every step of this has to be "custom done" even more than the usual individual design and installation of implants, dentures, etc.  From my oral surgeon's advice, I am seeing a prothodontist who has a lot of experience with jaws like mine.  Those two docs have worked together a lot.