Benign or not Benign, That is the question...

Options

Hello to whom ever is reading this,

I apologize for my terrible grammar ahead of time. I didn't major in English. So, I am seeking advice through the process which will follow these days. I recieved the ultrasound results a day ago, and tadaa my ovaries had friends...large ones...my pelvis is having a party without my permission. I admittedly should have gone in a lot sooner. I noticed symptoms about 6 months back but being only 25 and a newly wed I chalked it up to stress and new found food triggers. My mother had passed away also in the beginning of the year from colon cancer and I was more focused on not becoming a hypochondriac. All in all, the result is the same, two tumors and 17CCs of free fluid. I took a deep breath and just made a follow up appointment to get a gyno referral. All the what if's started FLYING, I mean really crashing and bombarding, around my mind. I work in the medical field so I realize what these things mean.

So at 26, I have a great husband and no children, so the stresses that will follow at least will not affect too many. I can be quite a worry wart. I don't know if these things are meant to rant so I am sorry if it is long.

What are the situations I should expect to follow? CT scans, most likely, but how often are these things malignant? Should I prepare for the worst or is that the unhealthy way to go about this? My family has the worst genetics and my mother was diagnoised with stage 3 at 40, and skin cancer at 38, and my grandma as well had colon cancer at 50. I don't want to be a control freak, and I am staying away from WebMD which tells me I am going to die of a stroke within the hour...morbid humor I apologize for as well.

If anyone can shed some light and advice, I'd be very grateful.

Samantha

Comments

• Yari29199
    Yari29199 Member Posts: 1
    Options
    I know how you feel!