Should I go for this Chemotherepy?

Greetings to every member of this family!! My father has been diagnosed with stage four esophageal cancer at GE Junction. He is 75 years old and is quite week (42 Kgs) now. Doctors has prescribed Palliative Chemotherapy for him with injections Carboplatin AUC 5 and Paclitaxel 175mg/m3. I've heard about severe side-effects of Chimo and really don't want to go for this. If someone can please share their experience and suggest what I should do at this time. Is there any alternative available? I am very new to all this so please help.

Thank you!!
Sushant Kumar Dubey

Comments

• paul61
    paul61 Member Posts: 1,391 Member
    Not all patients have significant side effects from chemotherapy

Most cancer patients who receive chemotherapy have some side effects, but not all patients have severe side effects, that can’t be effectively managed, and negatively affect quality of life. If your father is under the care of a good palliative oncologist they should be able to improve your father’s quality of life during the time he has remaining. Side effects of the two drugs you are describing typically include, nausea, fatigue, dry irritated tissues in the mouth, and diarrhea. Not all patients have these side effects; and when they do, there are medication based interventions that can improve or eliminate the side effects.

I would suggest that your father discuss the potential side effects with his oncologist and then decide if he wishes to try a few rounds of chemotherapy to see what the outcome will be. Chemotherapy can always be stopped or the dosage reduced if side effects become an issue.