I want off this roller coaster! (new diagnosis for dad)

Options

I will try not to get too wordy so someone might actually have time to read this and possibly respond (I am a writer by heart and often go into too much detail). On dad's 63rd birthday in July a large mass was discovered in his lung.  No symptoms except back pain.  Lung cancer!  OK, so off to the races, the decision is made between my parents, CTCA (cancer treatment centers of america) was their best option. So within a week and a half off they go, 300 miles away, to face this battle.  A brief background before I continue with where my questions are.  In March of 2012, my brother passed away. 9 months later, after 7 open heart surgeries and being listed for transplant, my 18 year old son passed away after developing a fungal infection after his 7th OHS to place an LVAD to await transplant.  (Hence the subject line, I want off this roller coaster).  Back to dad, oncologist says it's the second largest tumor he has seen and had spred to his adrenal gland...stage 4.  Chemo begins after numerous imaging and lab tests.  Then a dr says, wait, we haven't scanned the brain.  2 small spots found. Cyberknife removed the two spots.  OK, continue treatment.  Then pain moves to the left side, so another imaging test.  Now, we have two spots on the liver (after 1 chemo treatment that is shrinking the lung tumor) and a mass on his spine.  One fall and he's paralyzed.  Emergency surgery scheduled, golf ball sized tumor removed, cage placed, and after healing will have radiation on the spine area.  After 1st and 2nd chemo (only 2 so far) he has run a fever, all tests negative, they say it's tumor fever.  Fever has been higher this time and lasting a lot longer than the first time.  He has also had several moments of confusion.  Everyone has an opinion on that, it's the meds (med suspected has been stopped), it's the fever, it's the cancer, on and on.  I am TERRIFIED they are missing something.  They did tons of labs a