Need tips for Showering

Options
foods55
foods55 Member Posts: 35 Member

I'm fairly new to the Colorectal forum. I had colonrectal cancer suergery on 2-13-15. I had my large intestine removed and ended up with a pernament iliostomy bag.

I need tips for showering-What does everyone do to keep thier bag dry when they shower?  Does anyone have a great tip

Comments

• Trubrit
    Trubrit Member Posts: 5,796 Member
    Options
    Welcome to the forum.

We have several here who have 'the bag' and will give you great advice. They pop in now and again, so it may take a little while.

I was blessed not to have to go that route, so can't be any help.

Have you been doing any treatments?

Sue - Trubrit

• John23
    John23 Member Posts: 2,122 Member
    Options
    Ileostomy, etc...

You can read some suggestions on my “blog”. Just click on my avatar and go to the blog…

You can shower with the appliance intact. The appliance keeps the liquid in, and it keeps liquid out. You do want to make sure that the seal is secure; any lifting of the wafer can erode fairly quickly. Taping a piece of plastic (like a zip-lock bag) over the appliance can be of some help. The appliance’s adhesive is subject to hot water….. You use hot water to  dissolve the adhesive, so a hot shower may cause some degradation of the adhesive qualities of the wafer.

I strongly suggest you use two-piece appliances with a “cut-to-fit” wafer. The stoma will change in size as time passes and you will be better off changing the diameter of the stoma hole in the wafer to match the need.

The wafer/appliance should always be as firm against the stoma as possible, with no area of peristomal area visible when the wafer/appliance is mounted.