High grade glioma III-IIII

Brandyynicole
Brandyynicole Member Posts: 1

My father has a High Grade Glioma. He was just diagnosed a few days ago. They say they range from about a 1-5, and hes between a 3-4.

It was in a inoperable spot, and he should be doing radiation and chemo soon. Of course, google is not the best place to go to when you find things out like that, but thats how I found this site.

I wanted to hear from people who actually have this, and what their expierince is. I know they say there isn't a cure, and for people who have had it in operable spots, it just keeps coming back. 

I am fairly new to all of  this. I am 21 years old, and this is the first time anyone in my family has been diagnosed with cancer. 

Is there any success stories from this? Is there anything I should know? How do you and your family deal with this? 

I would appreciate anything and everything you have to say.

Comments

• Beat_EGFRviii
    Beat_EGFRviii Member Posts: 1
    High Grade

I feel for you.  My wife was diagnosed just over a year ago.  Here are my thoughts.

1) My wife is 45 and they consider her young, so that may be on his side

2) Radiation is very targeted these days, so they may put radiation on one point.  Google Gamma Knife Radiation and Proton therapy.

3) There are different types of chemo than 15 years ago when another family member got cancer.  My wife is on oral Temodar and she takes an anti-nausia drug 30 minutes prior and has never thrown up from chemo.  She takes the chemo at 10pm so she sleeps afterward.