Depressed and taking care of my baby

DaVinci
DaVinci Member Posts: 1

My husband was diagnosed with leukemia in January. He's 34 and I'm 30. The hospital that has the best facilities to treat him is 2.5 hours away so he lives up there while I stay at our house and take care of our 1 year old son.

The finacial burden alone has been tough. I'm an art teacher so now I'm trying to support our family on just my pay check, as well as pay the hospital bills and lodging for him to stay up there.

But being alone with our little one...I'm overwhelmed.

I'm anxious and depressed all the time. I knew that cancer was tough on the patient but I feel like I'm drowning in responsibilites and emotions...and I'm really not even there to take care of him...only on the weekends when I can drive up to see him.

I'm moving at 100 mph. I come home from dealing with loud, obnoxious middle schoolers and then I come home and take care of my son, who is a little ball of energy. I try to keep on a smiling face throughout the day but today has been unbearable. I was ready to run out of the classroom in tears today. 

How do others deal with this? How do you deal with daily life and all the emotions that go with a loved one having cancer? How am I going to deal with this for the next 2 to 3 years of treatment?

Comments

• Hussy
    Hussy Member Posts: 29
    I completely understand the