Options
2»

Comments

• BillO60
    BillO60 Member Posts: 72
    Options
    NewHere said:

No Worries

I read your others posts in addition to your reply to me.

First, thank you for your service.

Second, as I was advised, and what I believe, the sense of humor is important.   Anyone who quotes Groucho (that line went through my head immediately also when I joined) and the sage Alfred E. Neuman, is okay in my book. Great minds  Laughing  I was told to put together a list of good silly movies.  Someone actually mentioned Monty Python and Airplane! as silly - no, indeed they are high art. 

Third, your health care background should help.   My health care background has has helpd me a bit and you have a far greater background by far.  I am a volunteer EMT.   I can still respond to 911 calls to crawl into car wrecks if my white blood count drops when I start chemo, but not for calls that would put me near people with the sniffles Tongue Out

Regarding empathy - I do my absolute best with patients to ease their minds on my calls  and can usually find something to make a connection.  My ability to make a connection with cancer patients became different when I heard the words applied to me.  An instant on switch.  

Sorry once again for all you had to go through and are going through now.  But you really did find a good bunch of people here. Just ask away, or chat, it really does help.

Energy Levels

You touched on something that I've been thinking about a lot and that is the ability to work while on chemo.  I know there are many variables and the situation is different for each person but you have given me some hope in that area. I traded in doing patient care for computers, management, and deskjobs (still in healthcare organizations) years ago and my enthusiasm for physical exercise has been on again, off again.