Salagen (for dry mouth)...

When I saw my ENT last week and complained about the dry-mouth he prescribed 'Salagen' which is used specifically to stimulate saliva secretion in patients that have undergone rads for head and neck cancers among other afflictions. I'm picking it up this week. Has anyone here ever used this medication or knows of someone that has? If so what were the results? The doctor said sweating is the most common side effect among the possibility of others. It could take up to 12 weeks to start seeing effects apparently. I'm hoping it will be of some benefit, the constant dry-mouth is very annoying. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments

• ljoy
    ljoy Member Posts: 94
    Dry Mouth

There is also Evoxac. I have been using it for seven years. It can be taken three times per day. it is very effective for me. . I'm really dry if I don't take it. I can't remember how long it took to take effect. I do have night  sweats but no big deal. Hopefully the Salagen will work for you. If not try Evoxac.

• meaganb
    meaganb Member Posts: 244 Member
    I tried Salagen & took it for

I tried Salagen & took it for about 3 months. It didn't really help my dry mouth very much & the excessive sweating was more of an issue for me. Everyoneis different though, its wortha try to seeif it helps. Also, dry mouth for me tends to be more of a problem at night so I keep a glass of water & a bottle of Stoppers 4 Dry Mouth by my bed & it works well!

• JC F
    JC F Member Posts: 74
    ljoy said:

Dry Mouth

There is also Evoxac. I have been using it for seven years. It can be taken three times per day. it is very effective for me. . I'm really dry if I don't take it. I can't remember how long it took to take effect. I do have night  sweats but no big deal. Hopefully the Salagen will work for you. If not try Evoxac.

Evoxac