How long from the end of tx until you went back to work?

Options

I finished my treatments on Aug. 20 and am looking to be back at work by Sept. 29 hopefully. My energy level is getting much better, taste still sucks but I can work around that, the peg comes out this week, haven't used it for two weeks. I just don't want to work for two weeks and then my energy levels crash, that's my big worry. How long was it for some of you and did you crash at some point and have to take time off again? 

Comments

• KTeacher
    KTeacher Member Posts: 1,103
    Options
    Back to work

It is different for everyone.  Depends on what you do.  Some were able to work online during treatment.  I was a K teacher.  The first time I finished treatment mid October, was feeling great at Thanksgiving but glad I didn't return until after the holidays.  I took a yoga mat and pillow to school, layed down during lunch recess.  Didn't have much energy left, worked, returned home ate dinner and went to bed.  I needed to rest on the weekend.  Second go around I was able to return after Thanksgiving but knew I had the holidays to rest.  Still used the yoga mat to rest at lunch.

• lornal
    lornal Member Posts: 428
    Options
    If you can...

Ease into work if you can.  For cancer 1 (2007), I worked part-time for a month, and then full time.

For cancer 2 (2014), I didn't have radiation or chemo, but 8 months after surgery, I am still only parttime.  The second time around took a much bigger toll.  I will be switching primary care doctors soon, and hope to find out what is holding me back - or if this is as good as it gets.

Lorna

• Joanielo
    Joanielo Member Posts: 55
    Options
    Back To Work