Can radiotherapy around your head affect your memory?

Options

I had 60gy of radiotherapy, 30 sessions over 6 weeks, 5 days a week. It was bilateral radiotherapy. They shielded my thyroid. The radiotherapy was down to my shoulders, and up as far as my cheeks, AND all around the back of my head, about halfway up my ears.

I don't know, but I feel like somehow my memory isn't quite as good as it was. Especially short-term memory.

I understand (I'm a psych nurse) that all the worry and upset of having cancer, and its brutal treatment, can cause people to be forgetful. But this is worrying me a little bit.

I just feel 'absent minded' in a way that I never have before.

I have also NEVER suffered from anxiety in my life. If anything, I go down, not 'up' - I've had depression three times in my life, but I am NOT depressed now. I don't feel too bad emotionally.

Just this odd memory thing.... could it be the radiotherapy? Some sort of brain damage? I wonder if it's permanent? Hope not!

Comments

• hwt
    hwt Member Posts: 2,328 Member
    Options
    Estelle

I haven't personally experienced memory loss...atleast not yet and I am 2 1/2 yrs out. I am sure others will weigh in on the topic. Hope your problem resolves itself.

• CivilMatt
    CivilMatt Member Posts: 4,722 Member
    Options
    head case

Estelle,

I feel slightly like I just got off of a carnival ride.  I feel like I just finished rads yesterday.  My head  feels heavy and I don’t like to nod my head up and down or back and forth. 

BUT, my memory is good!

I feel great, sleep great and eat great, I just feel a little bit funky and I have some issues with speaking loudly and clearly.

fun with Matt

at 2y5m

• donfoo
    donfoo Member Posts: 1,771 Member
    Options
    in the clubhouse...

could it be the radiotherapy? Some sort of brain damage? I wonder if it's permanent?