Skin care

kihonkumite
kihonkumite Member Posts: 14
edited November 2013 in Anal Cancer #1

I have my surgery scheduled and have been told there will be a bit of a scar and of course the area where the colostomy bag is going to go. Is there any special creams

that anyone has used to keep the area soft and to minimize scarring?

I'm still learning to navigate this site, so if you've written to me or answered some of my posts and I haven't said thank you, I aplogize.

Thank you everyone for your kindness and time. I have never been more stressed or confused.

Comments

• eihtak
    eihtak Member Posts: 1,473 Member
    kihonkumite.....

Hi, I have been away from my computer for a couple days taking a break from "stuff" in general to celebrate my birthday. My daughters and I toured a winery in Wisconsin, did some Christmas shopping, and lots of visiting and laughing......it was wonderful!

I don't remember the specifics of your surgery, I'm sorry. I have had my ostomy for going on three years now. It was originally intended to be reversed so I still have my anus/rectal area. I look the same in that regard, but it is not useable. If your surgery involves removal and closure, yes there will be some scaring, but from what I've learned it is usually minimal. Some people refer to the closer as a "barbie butt." I'm sure Laz would have knowledge of a cream if needed.