Will wedge pillow improve sleeping - Stage IV non small cell lung cancer

crbrn12
crbrn12 Member Posts: 3

Hi!  I am new to this and probably sound like an idiot!  My husband was diagnosed with stage IV non small cell lung cancer.  While the radiation therapy shrunk his lung mass and erased the lymph node tumor, the chemo did not keep spread in check.  He is now on his 3rd chemo drug and it sounds like they do not give it much hope.

He does pretty well during the day but at night he coughs so much!  It wakes both of us up and scares us!   He coughs so hard he gasps for air.  It terrifies me.  We have tried having him sleep on 3 pillows but they move all over.

Has anyone had any sucess with wedge pillows?  If so, did you use 7, 10 or 12" wedges?  Or would it be better just to put some blocks under the head of the bed?

Looking for any suggestions to improve his quality of life.

Love and thanks!

Comments

• honeycomb27
    honeycomb27 Member Posts: 6
    wedge pillow

so i have not tried a wedge pillow for my husband he sleeps with 3 or 4 pillows -  he is stage 3b lung cancer and like your husband the cough scares me too death he was coughing so much his ribs hurt all the time and i could never sleep from all the coughing and wheezing

but believe it or not i started putting vicks vapor rub on his chest and back with a t shirt and also on the bottom of his feet then put socks on his feet and believe it his cough all but went away the next morning - he could not even believe how good he felt the next morning - i know it sounds crazy but it works

also i started buying the generic vapor rub because i use on him everynight and the vicks is expensive when using everyday

ps when i only put on his chest and back it only helped a little - the bottom of feet is the key rub it on his feet really good and thick - i use 1/2 a small jar of the vapor rub each night and im telling you it really has made a world of difference