wondering about going back to work

Options
I am 7 radiation treatments away from being done, last day will be August 1st. I have my last chemo this coming week, split over 3 days. As it stands right now my family medical leave is up August 20th. They have said I can apply for an extension but it will have to be approved by the vice=president over our dept. I work in a hospital pharmacy, lifting cases of Iv fluids and totes of medications. I know everybody is different but just curious what other people's experiences are with going back to work. I just can't afford to lose my job. I am thinking I probably will need a little extra time if they will approve it but just worrying about it. Wondering how long others have taken to feel like going back to work??

Comments

• hwt
    hwt Member Posts: 2,328 Member
    Options
    work
    I work in an office so nothing too physical. I finished Tx 05/18 and returned a couple of days a week 3 weeks ago. Last week was my 1st full week (I only work 4 days). 8 weeks out had ample energy.
  • wr0ngway
    wr0ngway Member Posts: 7
    Options
    back to work
    Finished treatment at end of May so i'm 8 weeks out. Am just now feeling up to full time work. Still requiring lots of sleep.
    But I actually did a condensed work-out routine just this morning for the first time since February. Who says you can't do sit-ups with a PEG tube?? (ans. - my surgeon, not me!) But then I went back to bed 'cause it was 6:00 am on a Saturday.
    Anyway, based on my experience I'd suggest about 8 weeks convalescence but if your work requirements dictate, don't be afraid to go back earlier, just plan for a lot of sleep and get help with household chores and such.
    best wishes,
    David
  • phrannie51
    phrannie51 Member Posts: 4,716
    Options
    What do you think....is the VP a person who