Preparing for treatment

Options
Hello all!!!

I am very new to all of this. I was diagnosed last week on April 11, 2012 with Stage III Squamous Cell Carcinoma of the Tongue. I had was I thought was a canker sore on my tongue since mid-January and went to my GP and my dentist 6 times combined and was told it was just a canker sore for 2 months. I was still concerned because it was not going away and had it looked at and biopsied by an oral surgeon. When I was told it was cancer I was very scared, but now my ortholerongolgist(spelling?) said that it was in Stage III with some abnormal lymph nodes, I have become a bit freaked out.

I found this group and decided to join because as much as I LOVE my family and friends, I can tell that they are looking to me for answers about "my condition" when I don’t even know yet what is going on myself.

So for right now I am preparing for treatment and the treatment plan from my team of doctors. I am very blessed because I am going to be treated by doctors at the University of Chicago and so far have heard nothing but good things about them.

I am sort of wondering about any advice of what to do before I start treatment. How can I prepare physically, mentally, emotionally? Who do I tell? How much do I tell them?

So any info is welcome! I also want to say that I am very glad I have found this and look forward to getting to know you all!

Dana

Comments

• Skiffin16
    Skiffin16 Member Posts: 8,305 Member
    Options
    Welcome Dana...
    First of, try to relax a little...., I know much easier said than done.

But cancer these days is very treatable, as you'll see the many of survivors here. Some just starting like yourself, a lot several years post treatment like myself (going on three years post treatment, and many out past 10 - 15 years and going.

I know the anxiety well...January 2009 I was Dx STGIII SCC Tonsil Cancer (primary) and a lymphnode on the same side (secondary)..HPV+.