Seeking advice from tamoxifen veterans

curlygirltoo
curlygirltoo Member Posts: 1
edited April 2012 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello, all!

I have a question for anyone who has been on tamoxifen and now is done with treatment. First, let me say that I know many people strongly dislike tam, and for many valid reasons. That is not the topic of this question, however, so I’d prefer to avoid a discussion of the evils of tam here. I have had a relatively easy time of it on tam and would not consider going off of it, given what I know about my own situation.

I have been on tam for 3 years now. For the first two years I blissfully had virtually no side effects. After 2 years, I started noticing that my joints were achy and easily injured. I went to many doctors and finally a rheumatologist told me that this is a symptom of tamoxifen (about 11% of women on tam get this symptom, according to this doc). For the past year, I have really struggled with this, as I’m a yoga teacher and an intermediate yoga practitioner. Every time I practiced, I would hurt myself. I’ve finally gotten to the point where I realize that I have to give up the practice that I’ve known and start over with very, very basic and gentle postures modified to prevent joint injury. This has deeply affected my sense of myself and I’m in actual mourning for my old practice and the freedom my body used to have.

So, here’s my question… Has anyone else out there had this same symptom and, if so, did it go away after you went off the tam? If it did go away, how long did it take?

Thanks for your help. I wish you all blessings.

Comments

• Tux
    Tux Member Posts: 544
    Tamoxifen
    Sorry that you are having so much joint pain! I have been on tamoxifen for 2 1/2 yrs.
    Lots of joint pain(leg/toe cramps, also) for me, too. Before BC I was a half-marathon runner and I lifted weights regularly. So much for a healthy lifestyle preventing cancer, right?