When can i get back to work?

TRB37
TRB37 Member Posts: 5
Hello i go in for surgery to have my whole right kidney removed on april 9th, i'm a firefighter by trade and my question is when do you think I'll be able to get back to swinging an ax and get back to full firefighting duties. Not looking forward to this at all.

Comments

• Limelife50
    Limelife50 Member Posts: 476
    Depends on alot things
    Had my right kidney removed in 2011 and was back to work in six weeks ,I think the more normal amount of time would be about 8 weeks since your job requires a lot of physical activity.Also a lot depends on type of surgery you are having and how fast you recover,good luck sorry you had to join us and please keep us posted
  • icemantoo
    icemantoo Member Posts: 3,361 Member
    Back to work
    There is no one size fits all answer to your question. It all depends on wheter your surgery is open or laproscopic? Your age? Your heath? Whether there are any complications? Whether you are going back to full duty or light duty? Depending on the above you should have your normal strength back in 6 weeks and be able to perform heavier activities several weeks and possibly a month or two later. Don't forget you are having major abdominal surgery. May I suggest that you see how you are feeling a month after surgery and discuss this with your Doctor and employer at that time.

Good luck with the surgery which should be a piece of cake for a fireman.

Icemantoo
  • TRB37

Depends on alot things
    Had my right kidney removed in 2011 and was back to work in six weeks ,I think the more normal amount of time would be about 8 weeks since your job requires a lot of physical activity.Also a lot depends on type of surgery you are having and how fast you recover,good luck sorry you had to join us and please keep us posted

Robotic