Support from family and friends

PDKonstan
PDKonstan Member Posts: 6
This is actually my first post. About a month ago I was diagnosed and from there I was on fast track with appt.’s and surgery. My follow up to my surgery is tomorrow and mid April I will begin my radiation. Since I am new to all of this, I have to admit what I find very disturbing is who you think is going to be there for support turns up not supportive at all. I don't know how many of you have encountered this or not but I am quite baffled at it. I am usually a very private person and I continue to be to some degree, however, since my diagnosis I have reached out to those who I thought would be supportive and wham, I was in for a surprise. I have to admit that I just don't get it and I struggle at trying to understand. However, I can say that there have been some people who have really shown me their support and for that I am very grateful. Any of you encountered this? And how did you deal with it?

PDK

Comments

• disneyfan2008
    disneyfan2008 Member Posts: 6,583 Member
    Sorry you have had this
    Sorry you have had this happening to you. I am sure most of us have it to some extent! I have some who were wonderful (friend who lived in Vt and me NYS drove down to be with me for surgery and drove home same day) I have those who have tagged along to dr appts!

Then some who years later said to me OH YOU had cancer right? totally clueless...

Even if some are not there they may be scared and not sure how to deal! others may just be selfish but best to weed them out now..HEHE

Try journal!

Wish you the best...remember take care of yourself and if anyone offers to help you..take them up on offer. I now tell people dont' offer if you dont' mean it because I WILL take you up on any offer..

Denise
  • lauraof4
    lauraof4 Member Posts: 24
    support from friends and family