new mass found anterior to thyroid lateral to clavicle

hello everyone i am new to the csn website. last tuesday i went to the dr b/c i have been having ear pain for 3 months. I did have pneumonia in september, followed by ear infection in october sinus infection in november. i figured that i just had another ear infection or either the first ear infection had not cleared up. i have had swollen lymph nodes in my entire neck since october however i chalked it up to the ear infection. Finally on tues i call my gp for an appt. they ran a cbc and sed rate which both came back normal. gp was baffled as to why lymph nodes would be inflamed but have a normal cbc. now i have also been experiencing extreme fatigue as well as slight difficulty swallowing which is more noticeable if im dehydrated. anywho, i had ultrasound of soft tissue of neck as well as contrast ct which both showed a soft tissue mass which is lateral to my clavicle, anterior to my thyroid and pressing against trachea and carotid artery. the radiologist did seem concerned and recommended biopsy or complete removal of the mass. he was unable to characterize the mass but did say it did not look aggressive and that it is not invading any of the adjacent structures. now that ive brought everyone up to speed, i am just now freaking out! i work for a radiologist and i see this all the time most of the time its not cancer but there is always the few that are. im terrified not of the treatment, not of death but more the fear of the unknown. i do have an appt with a surgeon next week to discuss options. me personally if it doesn't belong there remove it completely. my gp recommended a biopsy either fna or needle core, my thought on that, if i have the bx and it is cancer i then will have to have it removed, then if its benign and i don't have it removed and it grows there is potential for it to invade my trachea or esophagus which ulitmately ends in surgery. i would like some guidance here from those who have experie