Do CA125 numbers bounce around?

Options
zoesmom
zoesmom Member Posts: 3
Was diagnosed a level IIIc in mid-June of this year. After making it through 6 rounds of taxol and cisplatin ip and iv the end of October, I'm just beginning to reach out and ask questions. It was just about asking enough questions to figure out how to survive the operation and chemo and lung drains before. Now I'm looking out to the horizon to ask questions about living. Reading the discussion board tonight I see that a lot of peoples' CA125 numbers seem to remain stable. Mine has already climbed by two points in the two months since finishing chemo. My doctor says it is normal but is it? I keep reading about CA numbers remaining stable.

Comments

• jadav1956
    jadav1956 Member Posts: 95 Member
    Options
    HI !! I don't know for sure
    HI !! I don't know for sure about your question. I just wanted to say I was diagnosed in April 11'. I also am a 3c. My ca 125 started at about 4800. I had 5 rounds of carbo/taxol. I had to switch to taxotere at the 6th tx. I have had 3 tx with that mix. I am due another chemo this next week on 12/22. It will make 9 total.My platelets were too low this week to have another tx. My numbers are now down to 21 !!! I know the onc wants me to have at least another year of a maintenance chemo, but don't know what that means just yet. I have a ct scheduled for 1/10. Hang in there and ask onc lots of questions . Also keep reading this board as the ladies here are wonderful !!! Jackie
  • LaundryQueen
    LaundryQueen Member Posts: 676
    Options
    jadav1956 said:

HI !! I don't know for sure