Start chemo Wednesday-scared of the unknown

Options
Penny67
Penny67 Member Posts: 65
Hi everyone. Thank you for the warm welcome and the pink bus! Well for those of you that read my original post, I was supposed to have an mri of my liver Thursday evening to check out 2 areas that the radiologist said appeared to be small hemangiomas (oncologist wanted to use an mri to be sure). Well I got to the mri and the mri tech just about had a heart attack and replied, "You can't have an mri if you have expanders in your chest. The mri could rip those right out of your incision!" Needless to say I was a bit upset that my doctor had ordered the test and he knew about the expanders as well as his nurse that set me up with the test. Now I have to have a PET scan Monday instead, followed by surgery Tuesday to put in a port and then chemo on Wednesday. I am very worried about how I will react to the taxol and cytoxan. I have had some bad experiences with anesthesia and morphine (extreme nausea and vomitting) and want to do EVERYTHING possible to avoid these side effects. If anyone has any tips for eating before, during, after I would really appreciate them. I just had a therapist friend of mine drop off some relaxation and meditation cds to use during the chemo, but I guess I need some tips and reassurance from people that have been there-not just from my husband saying "you'll be fine."

Comments

• jessiesmom1
    jessiesmom1 Member Posts: 915 Member
    Options
    Your 1st Chemo
    Hi Penny,