Mum diagnosed with colorectal stage IV and given 3 months to live.

Options
iskandar05
iskandar05 Member Posts: 15 Member
Hi all, im a newbie to this forum. I just need an outlet to vent my feelings out to someone but dont know who ): my mum was diagnosed with stage IV colorectal cancer at the age of 46 around mid-august on 2010. i didnt know it was stage 4 at the start of diagnosis as she tells me it was stage 1. my aunt was the one who broke the news to me that she was already at stage IV at the start of diagnosis. shes had 9 chemo sessions and the doctor said shes had enough and let her rest at home and wont be receiving anymore chemo. i broke down immediately. i dont know know what to do! i love her so much )': im only 18 and shouldnt be experincing all this ): the doctor gave my mum 3 months to live. she had colon cancer that had spread to her liver and lungs. i really dont want to lose my mother. shes my pillar of strength. shes everything. im very close to her. surgery was not an option as the "cancer had spread everywhere". shes pretty much active right now.. but i dont know how it'll be like 3 months from now.. ): i keep crying in school in toilet where nobody sees me. one moment im fine, the next i just broke down.. are there any survivors out there who had almost the same situation? Please reply.. ):

Comments

• John23
    John23 Member Posts: 2,122 Member
    Options
    iskandar05 -

I had one oncologist tell me I was a stage 3c, and another insist
    I was a stage four...... Both felt that with chemo, my time was
    limited to around 3-4 years. Without chemo, I had -0- time.

That was in 2006. I never did chemo, I chose to do imported
    Chinese herbs instead.

A "prognosis" is based on the size of the tumor and it's rate
    of growth; they try to determine how long it will take for that
    tumor to grow large enough to kill you.

Anything that can be done to stifle the growth of that tumor,
    changes the prognosis.