My Chemo Drugs??

Options
2»

Comments

• Guil
    Guil Member Posts: 4
    Options
    Boy do i know how scary this all is.
    I just finished my chemo the end of march. I also had her2 pos cancer with lymph node involvment up to my collar bone. Starting the chemo was scary. I had myself all wigged out partly due to the fact I am a nurse who back in the early 70's worked in a hospital that specialized in cancer research. Back in those days the nausea and vomiting started before the chemo was even finished. I do so admire and thank those women and men that pioneered the treatment of cancer. Because of them taking those drugs that the effects were little known, today we have things that make this journey a little easier than it was for them.
    I havent worked with cancer patients in many many years but the memory of what they went through made me fear the chemo to the point of being totally wigged. I knew we had drugs now to combat the sickness but I was still irrational and just pain scared that I was not going to be able to handle it. Well I am here to tell you after 6 rounds 3 weeks apart of cytoxan, taxotere, adriamycin and herceptin (herceptin is continuing for at least a year) that even though chemo is probably the worst thing I ever have went through it was a peice of cake compared to what I witnessed back then. The main thing is fatigue (need to sleep when your body tells you its time), food aversion (I didnt feel nauseous as much as i cant put that in my mouth so I made small managable meals freq during the day and lots of water), losing the feeling in my hands and feet ( which I still have but my dr tells me it will slowly lessen or go away totally). I wear comfortable shoes and make sure I do have a grip on things I carry around.
    Your doctors and nurses should explain the side effects you will have and any they dont tell them right away so they can help you. Ask questions! Write down a list of things and take notes.