Dear Carlene re: your response to Sarah re: antidepressants

Options
antcat
antcat Member Posts: 270
Dear Carlene, I was so happy to hear what you wrote to Sarah re: antidepressants. I couldn't agree with you more. I've been battling this for several years and most recently the oncology nurse said to me, that I should be on antidepressants and maybe should talk to a psychiatrist. I was so furious with her because I felt she was out of place, after all she was not my doctor. I told her I was not depressed, and that even though I get anxious from time to time, who wouldn't with this type of diagnosis. I mean do they expect a person to jump for joy when each chemo treatment they give them seems to fail. I keep busy but I know I am a worrier. Everytime I have a little new pain, I think its related to the cancer.

The nurse told me "oh we have many patients on antidepressants and you'd be surprised how good they feel." We're on enough meds with chemo and everything, I certainly wouldn't add anything that was unnecessary.

I know my mental health and when a person has poor long term prognosis, how do they expect a person to feel. Especially since they keep trying different chemos after chemos and it's really only a guessing game with them. I guess I'm just venting, but it was so good to hear someone felt just like I do.

Comments

• Hissy_Fitz
    Hissy_Fitz Member Posts: 1,834
    Options
    I hope I didn't leave the
    I hope I didn't leave the impression that I believe no one should take antidepressants. Heavens above....if they help you cope, by all means, take them. I don't like the way they make me feel, but that's just me. I won't let the dentist use nitrous oxide on me, either. He says everyone else is telling him, "Turn it up, doc," and I'm pulling on the mask, saying, "Get this damn thing off me."