Hi! I'm new to this discussion board stuff.

Options
2»

Comments

• Miss Murphy
    Miss Murphy Member Posts: 302
    Options

Miss Murphy
    hugs to you!

i will have to take the tamoxifen too, for 5 years. from what the oncologist said, there are really no side effects. has that been your experience?

carrie :)

No!
    I have had side effects from the Tamoxifen but there are plenty of women on this board who have no side effects and hopefully you will be one of these lucky ones. I started off on Femara and then tried Arimidex as I'm post memopausal - both are AI drugs and I had severe muscle, bone and joint pain with both. Last October my onc put me on Tamoxifen. While it's not nearly as bad as the other two drugs, I'm having hot flashes and mood swings and just don't feel as perky.

I gotta love these oncologists who say there are no side effects. I remember at my first onc visit before I had the oncotype test, she told me that chemo was a piece of cake and that the only side effect was loosing you hair!

We are all different in how we react to all these various drugs. Good luck.

Hugs, Sally
  • carriesoup
    carriesoup Member Posts: 144
    Options
    Mama G said:

I"m so sorry Carrie.
    I will say that my first was my worst. AND each treatment had different side effects. Make sure to chew ice during the administration of the red devil. AND drink water ahead of time, like you were preparing for a marathon. It definitely seems to help if you do those 2 things. I tried to go without and found out.
    My favorite comment lately: "LIFE IS NOT FAIR!"

h20!
    i drink a lot of water. i actually drank so much the first time, i never had discolored urine once! how do the ice cubes help? i didn't realize that side effects can be different with each treatment. my first round, it was headaches, neck pain,dizziness and exhaustion. i hope the anti-emetics they are giving me, still help. nauseousness is the worst.