breast cancer fundraising walks?

Options
Heatherbelle
Heatherbelle Member Posts: 1,226 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi - i just wanted to ask a quick question to all of you who are involved in BC fundraising walks - do you have any cool fundraiser ideas to share? We're getting a team together for a walk in October, and I'm just wondering if any of you had any good fundraising tips or ideas that worked well for you that you'd like to share.
*hugs & thanks!*
Heather

Comments

• KayNYC
    KayNYC Member Posts: 495 Member
    Options
    personalizing the letter sent out to my contacts...
    I was pretty successful getting more donations this year for the Walk-run. I think that it was partially due to my personalizing the email templates that the Komen WalkRun provided and the fact that this is my first year, walking as a survivor.All my friends, family and coworkers who have supported me through this journey were more than happy to make the donations for Breast Cancer.
    Hugs, K
  • elm3544
    elm3544 Member Posts: 748
    Options
    a couple of ideas
    Last year I saw a yard sale sign that read " yard sale for the cure" so of course I followed it. The woman who lived there was a 1 year survivor. She had made pink ribbon suckers and pink lemonade to sell along with all the yard sale items. They also had a jar labeled for donations. Everything they made was donated.

For the past 3 years I have made awareness bracelets to sell and used the money for donations.

If you have a Komen headquarers near by, they sell things like pens, bracelets, pins, note pads, etc.-all things you can purchase and re-sell for a little more in order to raise funds.

Some restaurants, bars, salons, etc will allow you to put a jar or something on their counter to collect donations.

Good luck to you!
  • missrenee
    missrenee Member Posts: 2,136 Member
    Options
    elm3544 said:

a couple of ideas