Can I smack her...can I please?

Options
2»

Comments

• carkris
    carkris Member Posts: 4,553 Member
    Options

I have encountered the very same
    attitude a couple of times and each time it happens I feel like I'm the crazy one. We were all told that we shouldn't ever have blood drawn or even a blood pressure done on that arm right?
    Yeah, I thought so...........
    Why do you think these people give us the attitude? And it is an attitude. They could just say Oh, Okay, sorry I didn't know...but they do the eye roll like we are silly whiners that are just exaggerating.
    Go figure. Thanks for the post Gracie, and thanks for letting me rant a little on the subject.
    God Bless,
    Wanda
    Oh the many joys of our journey! :)

I am a nurse but I have
    I am a nurse but I have always respected my patients. In the cause of eduacation I would call her/him on the attitude and educate them. We are taught to respect the pt that behavior should not be tolerated. I am bilateral, so I do get blood draws and IV's. I also get BP's too but I ask them to do a manual BP and not to pump too high as I have a low BP. also it can be done on your leg but you need to know in adults it usually runs a bit higher than the arm.
  • Wolfi
    Wolfi Member Posts: 425
    Options
    Unreal!
    Gracie,

I agree with what someone else said - she should have just honored your request to use your right arm - it shouldn't have mattered the reason.

I'm not sure how much the general public (including medical staff) knows about lymphodema. I only had a few lymph nodes removed but most nights I wake up to a swollen and numb right arm. I try to be very careful that I don't cut myself, have bp taken or get blood drawn on my right arm. I don't need more problems than I already have with it.

Mention this incident to your primary - this young nurse needs to know that what she did was unprofessional so she can correct herself in the future.
  • VickiSam