Special Diet

jackiejhm
jackiejhm Member Posts: 169
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Okay, so I am curious. Have any of you ladies Changed or Drastically changed your diet since your diagnosis or upon completion of your treatments? I am a pastry chef. I love food,cooking,baking,EATING! I also love to be active, thankfully! I dutifully gulp down fresh vegie (spinach, carrot, cauliflower, cabbage, broccoli...)juice every morning. I hate it-yes, I really do. But, I look at it as medicine, I guess. The information out in the world is all over the place. Also, I had a estrogen/prog. ++ tumor, so I avoid soy, processed meats etc...Man, I kinda miss a good hot dog! So, I would love to hear some thoughts on this! xoxo, Jackie

Comments

• CypressCynthia
    CypressCynthia Member Posts: 4,014 Member
    My thoughts about diet
    I have been trying to avoid certain foods and include healthier ones. Basically, I am trying to eat more fresh veggies and herbs. I grow all of my own herbs, but have mixed success with veggies. I try and buy organic and local produce whenever possible. I also try to include foods that reduce inflammation as there is some evidence that inflammation is associated with increased risk. See:
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1994795/

There is a web site http://nutritiondata.self.com/ that gives you an inflammation number for foods.

I avoid alcohol as there are many, many studies that equate alcohol with increased risk of breast cancer. Many here get angry when I point this out, but I am not trying to tell anyone what to do. I loved an occasional drink, but I have given it up. My personal decision. For a review of the literature re alcohol and breast cancer: http://www.springerlink.com/content/l64718w118k2740m/

I also try and avoid BPA, see http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2649250/
    I stay away from canned foods and plastic where I can--easier said than done.