My beautiful little Japanese wife of 32 years has recurrent ovarian cancer

Options
Robert G
Robert G Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Ovarian Cancer #1
I just found this site while doing my regular Web search for any information I can find on Ovarian cancer. My beautiful little Japanese wife of 32 years has stage 4 recurrent ovarian cancer. She has just completed the 5th session of 6 planned in her second round of chemo after 2 operations. I need to know how it will go from here, how much longer she has, how painful this will be for her and any other advice/feedback anyone can give.

Comments

• Hissy_Fitz
    Hissy_Fitz Member Posts: 1,834
    Options
    Robert....
    I know I speak

Robert....

I know I speak for all of us here when I say that I am so very sorry about your wife. This is a wonderful "club", full of smart, caring, courageous women, but none of us are happy to be members.

I am pretty new to this whole thing, although like you, I have done a great deal of research. I was diagnosed in Sept of 2009, had the big surgery and started chemo right away. I have completed all 6 rounds of Carbo/Taxol and am now on Taxol maintenance for a year. Mine is Stage IIIc.

Only God knows "how much longer she has". Recurrent OC is a chronic illness, like Diabetes, for instance, that must be treated and managed on an on-going basis. If your wife responds well to treatment she can live with the disease for many years, although she may have to have treatments, off and on, for the rest of her life. I know a woman who has recurrent Stage 3c and she was diagnosed 11 years ago, and has had many courses of chemotherapy, but has a very good quality of life. She works full-time and looks/feels great.