cancer marker numbers

Options
putzie
putzie Member Posts: 66 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi all-
I just received CA15-3 and CA27.29 marker numbers today and although they are in the normal range, they are still a little higher than the last ones. I am new to what the numbers mean but am panicky because they went up, if even slightly. Anyone else know about the markers???
Thank you!!!

Comments

• putzie
    Options
    by the way, my numbers were
    by the way, my numbers were : CA27.29 18.5 and now 24.8
    CA15-3 15 and now 22

thank you!!!
    dawn
  • susie09
    susie09 Member Posts: 2,930
    Options
    putzie said:

by the way, my numbers were
    by the way, my numbers were : CA27.29 18.5 and now 24.8
    CA15-3 15 and now 22

thank you!!!
    dawn

Hi Dawn! No, I don't know
    Hi Dawn! No, I don't know anything about them. My oncologist doesn't believe in them. So, I don't have this done. Good luck to you!
  • faith_trust_and_a_little_bit_of_chemotherapy
    Options
    Hello Putzie...
    I'm in the same boat. My CA 15-3 markers have gone progressively up during the course of my chemotherapy. The last lab report indicated my CA 15-3 @ 62 with a reference range <= 25...that's more than double. Both my oncologists (hematology and radiology) are of the opinion they are 'just numbers' and I shouldn't worry about them. "Don't lose any sleep over them"...too late. I, however, am of the opinion that they drew the blood and wanted it checked and there would not be a benchmark if they were just numbers.

I first visited this forum with this in mind and the sentiment of my doctors was echoed by several here. Some indicated that even the doctors don't agree on the significance.

UGH! It's mind numbing, the doctors can tell us exactly what kind of chemo, how many courses, the dosage, but they don't attribute much value to a test that they order?