First time posting!

neve
neve Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
This is my first time posting on a breast cancer board. I've had a biliateral mastectomy and 2 treatments of taxol and herceptin - 10 more to go, and then a once every 3 weeks infusion of herceptin for 12 months. I will have to take tamoxifan for 5 years, but the doctors don't feel I need radiation. I've been waiting for the hair loss to happen, and have decided to take my children to the hairdressers tomorrow to watch me have my head shaved. I hate the idea of it just falling out in bits and hope that taking control and shaving it will seem less awful to my kids. I haven't had reconstruction yet, but I'm so glad I found this board as so many women seem to have great advice. No doubt I'll be asking questions as my treatment progresses.

Comments

• MyTurnNow
    MyTurnNow Member Posts: 2,686 Member
    Neve, I just wanted to
    Neve, I just wanted to welcome you to this amazing group of supportive, caring, understanding and loving individuals. This is not a place that any of us imagined we find ourselves, but I can promise you that you will be glad you did. There are many bc warriors on here and there truly is strength in numbers. It sounds like you are taking the bull by the horns so to speak and managing your life. Good luck and continue to post. We'll be with you every step of the way. Sending (((hugs))) your way!!
  • tgf
    tgf Member Posts: 950 Member
    MyTurnNow said:

Neve, I just wanted to