Gemzar and Campto?

Options
sanam
sanam Member Posts: 106
edited March 2014 in Ovarian Cancer #1
Hello everybody
I am new to this network and I am here for my Mom.
This is american cancer society and I am coming from another part of the world so maybe treatments and protocols are diffrent here.As far as I was reading posts and discussion I was able to find so manyt hings in common except my Mom's current chemo regime.
She was diagnosed in December 2009 with ascites which turned to be ovarian cancer.She had 6 rounds of Carbo/taxol and her CA125 decresed from 1200 to 36.Then she had the debulking surgery 2 weeks ago.After we recieved the pathology report ,we were informed that there are still microscopic cells to deal with.So they put her on Gemzar/Campto regime which I was not able to find any info about this combination.I wish to know if anybody has any info about it.
I was reading your discussions and I am amazed by all this love and caring.I wish you all good health and love you all.

Comments

• nancy591
    nancy591 Member Posts: 1,027 Member
    Options
    Gemzar/Carbo?
    Do you mean carbo? I just started on Gemzar and Carbo. I only had the Gemzar so far. My regimen is day one: gemzar, day 14: gemzar/carbo then 2 weeks off. Does your mom have a similar schedule? I've only had the Gemzar thus far. NO side effects. I felt a bit yucky the next day but that was it. It is supposed to be really hard on the blood levels: wbc, rbc and platelets. I already bottomed out after one infusion. I've never had this before. My oncologist did say she gave me a slightly higher dose because I am young, healthy and able to tolerate it. I had to get a shot of neupogen (sp?) and return in 2 days to see if my levels went up. I will also have to get the standard dose, she will not give me an elevated dose anymore. Day after the chemo I felt a bit yucky but now I feel fine. Hopefully this regimen will work!
  • sanam
    Options
    nancy591 said:

Gemzar/Carbo?