New to the boards---sorta

Options
Karen9182
Karen9182 Member Posts: 60
edited March 2014 in Ovarian Cancer #1
Hi I'm just starting out on this board but have been amazed at the support, advice, prayers and love that flows from these threads. Tina suggested this bord (thanks ;-) Tina!) I got my dx for ovarian cancer on December 23 2010. My husband, Bob had gone into the ER with numbness on the side of his face. He was diagnosed eith a brain tumor on dec 20 and underwent surgery to remove it on the 22nd. I had been in pain (belly) for a few weeks and we had two ultrasounds scheduled for mid Jan. After my husbands surgery I told my Dr because of our circumstances to just give me some antibiotics and push up the dates for the ultra sound. She said she would give me a CT. She called me on my cell while I was in the ICU with my husband to give me the news.
I have now gone through three cycles of IV taxol/carboplatnim with fantastic results. I had my debunking surgery on April 22nd--one week before my 50th birthday. It was at this time that the diagnosis was changed to primary paritoneal cancer. I meet with my gyn/onc on tues to schedule my IP chemo (taxol/cisplatnin) for 4 treatments. The only thing I hate more than the nulasta shots is not being able to be the mom I want to be to my 5 and 7 year old children. My husband is doing well. They got almost all of his (ependymoma) tumor and he has finished his 5 days a week/six week regimen of radiation and is back at work part time. There were days (especially Fridays after a full week of radiation and me 3 or 4 days out od chemothat were tough, but I think the worse is over. I worry about my children losing one or both of us, but so far it looks like we have a few years at the least--nice long many years if cards are played right. I am so grateful to all the women who make these supportive posts. Blessings on all of you.
Hugs from CA
Karen

Comments

• BonnieR
    BonnieR Member Posts: 1,526 Member
    Options