Tightness with implants 3 months post op

Stilltrying
Stilltrying Member Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi. I'm new to the network. I had a bilateral mastectomy in July '09 with tissue expander placement. In December '09, implants were placed. Do the implants get to the point of not feeling like something is tight around my chest? My ribs also hurt. Has anyone else experienced this? If so, what did you do to alleviate this. When I exercise (I do Zumba and have tried yoga and Pilates), I am really sore afterward. I have spoken with my internist who suggested I try finding someone who has had this problem. Any suggestions would be wonderful. Thanks so much.

Comments

• njbaker
    njbaker Member Posts: 9
    I had my implant exchange on
    I had my implant exchange on 4/9/10 and am feeling tightness also. I had a rough time with my expanders and got much needed relief from going to physical therapy. I know it's too early for me to begin that, maybe another 2 weeks but I suggest you try a qualified therapist who specializes in women like us - it made quite a difference when I had the expanders so I would assume it would be the same for implants. The expanders always felt like turtle shells under my skin and now the implants feel more like soft tennis balls. I was always in such good physical condition, exercising every day and it's frustrating because I think I should be further along. I'm gradually trying to get back to some sort of routine but don't want to overdue it until I see my PS in 2 weeks and get the go ahead. I especially feel the tightness in the evening. I hope your tightness subsides soon, ask your PS about PT.
  • SamuraiMom
    SamuraiMom Member Posts: 295
    time, time, time
    Hi,

I had a double mast. 7/09 with tissue expanders and then a second surgery to put in silicone implants.

The silicone were put in on 3/11/10.

It took about a month to get to the point where I wasn't constantly protecting my chest.