Lump on top of rib under left breast after mastectomy

Options
m-star
m-star Member Posts: 441
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Im a little worried and would like some thoughts on this....

Had my bilateral mastectomy in Feb.Got my expanders in and had my 1st expanstion 3 weeks post op. 1 week ish after that expansion,during massage,i felt a hard lump on the top of my rib,just on the crease of my left 'breast'. It doesn't move,its very solid,it doesnt hurt (unless i've been prodding it!).

When i went for my 2nd expansion 3 weeks ago,i mentioned it to the PS that was doing my top-up that day.She briefly felt it and told me it was eith a rib (???) or my expander.

Now im no doctor,but im pretty sure i cant just grow an extra rib the size and shape of half a small coin!!!! And i really cant see it being my expander,as the rest of the expander is nice and smooth and fine.

I go for my 3rd expansion tomorrow and i will tell them again.Hopefully i'll see my usual PS tomorrow.Its really on my mind as when i first got HL,i was ignored when i told them about the lump i found. I have little faith in medics now. I want to ask if they'll do an ultrasound to put my mind at ease but we get state health care here in the UK so not sure i can simply request one.

Any thoughts on this lump would be appreciated.

Kay

Comments

• carkris
    carkris Member Posts: 4,553 Member
    Options
    I felt something like that
    I felt something like that and it was the expander. rads onc concurred. In my case the expander is gone, so no longer an issue, but have it checked out. even for peace of mind.
  • DebbyM
    DebbyM Member Posts: 3,289 Member
    Options
    For peace of mind, you
    For peace of mind, you should have it checked out. If you can get an ultrasound, that would be good. I have always felt that no lump should ever be ignored. Good luck!

Hugs, Debby
  • m-star
    Options
    carkris said:

I felt something like that