My husband was recently DX with Lung CA with bone Mets...

Options
bingles
bingles Member Posts: 120 Member
edited March 2014 in Lung Cancer #1
Hello I am a 58 yr old woman living in NJ....about 2 weeks ago my husband of 32 yrs was dx'ed with Lung CA with bone mets.
I am a nurse by profession and thought that I could handle what the future held...sadly I have found out that I cannot.
The changes in him have been profound....pain management has been horrible for him...but thats getting better.
I know I will have a million other questions as I we move along in the process.....but right now the most pressing one is the loss of appetite.....he has zero desire to eat...he was never a big eater but now wouldn't eat from one day to the next if I did not push him and pushing him makes me feel that I am stressing him out more...which is something that is killing me....I want to be nothing but totally supportive and not a nagging spouse during this time when he is so tormented by this disease.
We go to our first Oncology appointment this Wednesday....hoping for answers there...but any hints would be greatly appreciated.
As I said I will be asking my questions down the road...like what am I to do with my anger at the fact that this horrific disease is taking my best friend away....but right now the appetite is my major issue.
Thank-you in advance.
Pat

Comments

• dixiegirl
    dixiegirl Member Posts: 1,043 Member
    Options
    Anger
    Welcome Pat,

I am sorry you have to be here, but please know you CAN do this. There is a world of support in the CSN chat room. Everything you described is normal honey and we've all been there.

Don't know what I can tell you about increasing appetite, but just try to remind him that his body needs nourishment in order to fight this disease. Try fixing things that he's liked in the past and just fix him a plate and if you need to, reduce the portion size for a bit. Maybe it'll help.