Options
2»

Comments

• jnl
    jnl Member Posts: 3,869 Member
    Options
    vlmh said:

Thinking of you
    (This is my first time to post. I hope that I am responding in a way that will be helpful.)

Seven years ago I had a mastectomy and eight chemotherapy treatments. Things went very well for me during treatment ~ no nausea, quick recovery, continued to work, etc. I truly thought that I was finished with breast cancer because I was on the "check-up once-a-year" plan. In November found out that it had returned. Unbelievable. My oncologist said I needed radiation this time and four more chemotherapy treatments (combination of cytoxin and taxitire - sp?). I was concerned that things would not go as well this time. The radiation was first ~ 24 Tomo treatments ~ they went well. (I had some skin flare-ups, but nothing really bad.) My first chemotherapy treatment was last Friday, Feb 26th, and I am so thankful that things are going well with that, too. The drugs that they give us to keep us from being nauseated really do work ~ what a blessing! I have been very tired and my stomach has felt weird. (A warm heating pad makes it feel better.) Some things taste funny and some smells are bothersome. (I am a coffee addict, but right now I can't stand the taste of it and have switched to tea.) If I get tired, I take a rest and I have given myself permission to eat mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese whenever I feel like it. It has been five days and I am pretty much back to normal. I am so, so thankful that I am able to get on with my life, even in the midst of treatment. I pray such is the case for you, too. I will keep you in my prayers.

It is always so sad to read
    It is always so sad to read of a recurrence by one of our bc sisters. I am hoping and praying for you.

Hugs, Leeza
  • Different Ballgame
    Different Ballgame Member Posts: 868
    Options
    Almost Same As You