need help with surgery options please help me!!

Options
sharkness
sharkness Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello there!
I am new to the network. I was diagnosed with stage 3C her 2 positive breast cancer in October. Since then I have gone through 4 rounds of AC Chemo. What Joy!! Now I am going through my second round, being taxoyl and herceptin for 12 weeks. I only have 4 more weeks to go. I had to change my surgeon because of insurance issues. I met with the breast cancer surgeon yesterday, and honestly was alittle overwhelmed. I am writing on this to see if I could get some feedback. I was told I do have a few options.
I eventually have to have a complete radical masectomy. A few options were presented to me yesterday. I could have one breast removed now and the other later, along with the nodes removed at surgery. Then undergo my radiation treatments. After radiation is complete wait for a 6 month period, then have my other breast removed and have a flap procedure done. the other option was to have a complete masectomy, have the spacers put in place, have implants placed, then go through my radiation. In doing my research I have seen that many defects can occur to the breast during the radiation process. Can anyone please give advice, I am feeling alittle bit overwhelmed with all of this information. I meet with the reconstructive surgeon tomorrow and would love some feedback.
thanks a bunch!!

Comments

• Skeezie
    Skeezie Member Posts: 586 Member
    Options
    Hi Sharkness,
    Did your surgeon give you reasons or possible outcomes from these different options? Don't be afraid to call him back and ask questions. I always took a pad and pen to take notes and brought my husband cause 2nd set of ears is very helpful.