Treatment of Stage I cancer

Options
yellow lab
yellow lab Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi, this is my first time on the site and am interested in knowing if anyone else has had the same experience as me and what decision was ultimately made. I had 2 stage I tumors removed from my right breast in January, had no node involvement and additionally had a negative PET scan. MY ER and PR are postitive and her 2 neu, negative. I was expecting to hear a treatment plan involving radiation and hormone therapy but my oncologist is leaning towards a 3 month treatment of chemo. I'm not sure this is the route I want to take-any input? I could use some! Thanks.

Comments

• Tux
    Tux Member Posts: 544
    Options
    My knowledge is limited in
    My knowledge is limited in this area, but I would have thought rads & meds for 5 years also.
    You might get a second opinion, just to make sure. I wish you the best whichever treatment you have.
  • teresa41
    teresa41 Member Posts: 471
    Options
    hi
    hi yellow lab~ i was diagnosed in apri,2009 with stage 2 IDC i also had no node involvement, i was also ER and pr positive her2neu nagative , i had 4 rounds of chemo 33 radiation treatments and now i take tamoxifen, i also was not expecting chemo but my onco dx test came back 17 that was to high also my oncoligist explained to me that clear nodes doesnt always mean cancer has not spread somewhere else, wishing you the best of luck and a warm welcome to the site!

teresa
  • Kylez
    Kylez Member Posts: 3,761 Member
    Options
    If it would make you feel
    If it would make you feel better, maybe you should get a 2nd opinion. I am not a doctor, but, I don't understand why you would need chemo. I had a lumpectomy and had radiation treatments. My oncologist wanted me on tamoxifen for 5 years, but, I haven't taken it yet, as I am undecided if I want to. Wishing you good luck in whatever you decide.

KYLEZ ♥
  • Tinabug
    Tinabug Member Posts: 158