lymphedema

Options
lizzie17
lizzie17 Member Posts: 548
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
18 months ago I had a bilateral mastectomy. My underarm on the right side has always retained fluid. But now, it seems to have increased greatly!! Any ideas about why it would flucuate so much? It is also a bit uncomfortable. Thanks, just starting to worry.

Comments

• margo54
    margo54 Member Posts: 10
    Options
    lymphedema
    Hi, well I am not an expert, but since I had my surgery I have done a lot of reading about lymphedema.
    From what I have read is that there is still alot that is unknown about this, but I do know that the swelling is the fluid that needs to go through the body. There are exercises to do this. Also there is a lymphedema web site to go to for information.
    The national lymphedema network, try going there you may find some info to help you.
    Let me know how things work out.
    Margo
  • lizzie17
    lizzie17 Member Posts: 548
    Options
    margo54 said:

lymphedema
    Hi, well I am not an expert, but since I had my surgery I have done a lot of reading about lymphedema.
    From what I have read is that there is still alot that is unknown about this, but I do know that the swelling is the fluid that needs to go through the body. There are exercises to do this. Also there is a lymphedema web site to go to for information.
    The national lymphedema network, try going there you may find some info to help you.
    Let me know how things work out.
    Margo

lymphedema
    Thank you! I will try the website and hopefully find something to "get the fluid moving"!!
  • aztec45
    aztec45 Member Posts: 757
    Options
    lizzie17 said:

lymphedema
    Thank you! I will try the website and hopefully find something to "get the fluid moving"!!

Sorry
    Get this checked out and taken care of soon. My docs tell me they can take care of lymphedema and the effects of it as long as you get to them early.

P
  • carkris