Feeling kind of blank, angry ...

Jax2
Jax2 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Caregivers #1
Hi all.

My names Aaron and I'm really new to all of this, so please forgive the lack of information and possibly understanding everything that's going on.

My father was recently diagnosed with stage 3B lung cancer. I've been reading up on it and I've found out there are different types, but I'm not sure what type my father has. The doctor may have said it, but not that I recall and I haven't seen or heard from him since the diagnosis, just plenty of other doctors.

They're getting ready to start him on Chemo & Radiation on Tuesday, with blood labs on Monday. My stress levels are going through the roof and I'm having a hard time controlling my emotions, but I'm not as scared as I feel I should be.

Anger is the main emotion I'm having a hard time with right now. My father also has very bad emphysema and had a collapsed lung back in March of 2009. I took care of him at home for two weeks after he finally got out of the hospital, so I feel like I'm prepared to do the same thing for him now. The problem is, my sister seems to want "Professionals" to come to the house and take care of him. I resent this completely, especially since she lives in another country, overseas. She is hardly ever here and now that my father is sick, all of a sudden she's moving back to the US when she couldn't have cared less the last 15 years. We got in a massive fight the other night because I felt like I was being told I'm incapable of being a good caregiver. As I said, my anger has been rising since the day we got the diagnosis, and I'm afraid I'm really kind of not myself lately. (Man, I feel like I'm rambling on here).