Options
2»

Comments

• GreeneyedGirl
    GreeneyedGirl Member Posts: 1,077
    Options
    Skeezie said:

I "stopped" smoking 26 years ago this month,
    Notice I didn't say "quit"? I have never quit, I just havent' had a cigarette in 24 years. When I stopped having cigs I didn't tell a soul except my husband...and you know what? No one noticed I wasn't smoking. That way, if I relented and had a cigarette I wouldn't get flack from people and feel like a failure. I carried cigarette's with me for a couple of months and then on Easter I had an argument with my hubby and had 3 cigarette's in a row and spent the rest of the afternoon laying down cause I was sick. I quit carying them in my purse.

Back then, we still partied very hardy and had lots of cocktails and spent time in our favorite pubs etc and of course that's where I could smoke triple my normal amount so instead I started playing with bar straws, one in each hand and it worked. For me and many smokers it's the act of doing something in your hands that's a big part of the habit. I have read just recently that we get over the nicotine withdrawl in the first 10 days and then we are left with the habit of the whole ritual of pulling out the cigarette case, lighting up, watching the smoke etc. I chewed sugarless bubble gum and blew lots of bubbles, keeps your mouth busy. I did slip a couple of times but because I hadn't "quit" I didn't get all bent out of shape (like when you fall off your diet and say to heck with it until next Monday). We didn't have all the "helpers" back then so we had to be inventive and create our own "helpers". To this day I play with straws, it's fun.