6 year survivor of Stage 3 Melanoma

smfisher15
smfisher15 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Skin Cancer #1
Hi all, I am new to the discussion board so I would like to give you a little background about my cancer history.
I was diagnosed at 17 with melanoma in the form of a mole. It was removed at the time and areas around the mole.

In 2003, I have a reoccurance in my lymph nodes under my left arm. One out of four nodes were infected. I was accepted into NIH..National Institute of Health in Bethesda Maryland to participate in their clinical trial. I receivemd the immunotherepy vaccines for a year every three weeks.

Currently, being cancer free for 6 years I still have a ton of concern.
I am now 28 years old, married and looking to start a family. I have had many mix reviews from people on whether pregnancy can cause a reoccurance due to the hormone level changes.
The unknown of all of the answers is the hardest part. I am think I am living in denial thinking that I can carry my own child with no problem. If anyone has a store or feedback who may be going thru the same sort of thing I would love to chat.

This has been so hard for me to accept.

Stephanie

Comments

• MUCMUC1
    MUCMUC1 Member Posts: 5
    I have a similiar history. I
    I have a similiar history. I was diagnosed in 2000 when I was 42. My only Child (Daughter) was 8 months old. I had a reoccurance in 2006 and had a tumor removed from my neck.

I do not see how pregnancy would trigger a reoccurance. This should not be a concern. The concern should be "what happens to my Child if I am not around to help".

I completed a clinical trial at Sloane Kettering NYC last year. I have done everthing possible to stay healthy for my Family. I am healthy today but with Melanoma you are never cancer free. I have tried to keep my life simple in case of a reoccurance.