Questions from a basket case

Options
Booberta
Booberta Member Posts: 61
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I admit it. My mastectomy is scheduled from Dec. 4 and I am indeed a basket case. The surgery itself doesn't scare me so much as the anesthesia. I'm a nurse and "know too much" about the things that can go wrong with anesthesia. Since this is something I have no control over, its the one thing that I have been focusing on.

It finally occured to me that while I have been stewing over this, I could be using the worry energy to do some planning for post-surgical care. What a concept huh? Focus on what I CAN control-who'd have thunk?

I have an excellent book "Your breast cancer treatment handbook". It was given to me by the breast cancer support person where I work. Its very helpful and well written. However, I would really, really appreciate input from those of you who have "been there done that" and have the not only the tee shirt but the prosthesis, surgery scars and fond memories to prove it.

My left breast and sentinal lymphnodes will be removed. I expect that I will have at least one drain. My surgeon says that I will stay at least overnight and longer if needed. Ok, got that. I'm told there's minimal pain (very good news) and some very fine meds to help with whatever pain there is.

I'm rambling, I know so I'll just start with the questions.

I did finally find some knit button up pj's. Bought three pair. Has anyone used the TLC post-op camisole with the insert for the prosthesis? To me they seem a little pricey at $45 each. Should I go ahead and buy some fiberfill prosthesis to wear home from the hospital? Did you wear a bra home from the hospital?

Homecare-How did you manage your dressing changes for the first week or two and what about the drains? What did you wear at home for the first few weeks? How did you sleep? I'm a flopper and move constantly from my left to right side. Did the pain/drains interfere with your sleeping?