newbie here

Options
girls4444
girls4444 Member Posts: 34
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi, I found a lump about 3 weeks ago and things have moved very quickly since then. I am looking for some place to turn for questions and support, my family and friends are very support but it is hard to talk to them. I have a question about the catheter that was put in me on monday, it has one tube running from it, can they do chemo and drawn blood when you only have one tube or should the doctor have put in two tubes. Thanks betty

Comments

• tgf
    tgf Member Posts: 950 Member
    Options
    confused
    I'm not sure what you mean when you say catheter. Do you mean you had a port installed ... probably in your upper chest?

hugs.
    teena
  • jnl
    jnl Member Posts: 3,869 Member
    Options
    tgf said:

confused
    I'm not sure what you mean when you say catheter. Do you mean you had a port installed ... probably in your upper chest?

hugs.
    teena

I am confused too. Tell us
    I am confused too. Tell us a little more please?

Leeza
  • Deb1969
    Deb1969 Member Posts: 165
    Options
    jnl said:

I am confused too. Tell us
    I am confused too. Tell us a little more please?

Leeza

Im confused also. Do you
    Im confused also. Do you have a PICC line?
    Deb
  • Fran1947
    Fran1947 Member Posts: 72
    Options
    Catheter
    Hi Betty,

If it is a Picc line in your arm - I believe they can draw blood and do chemo in the same line. Mine had two ends, but I believe it was just one tube. They cleaned it and changed the end things every week. I used tube socks to cover it up and keep it clean in between - you just cut off the toes of the sock & pull it up. It was very convenient and I never had any problems with it. And NO needle sticks.