Radiation after surgery

Options
cindycflynn
cindycflynn Member Posts: 1,132 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
For those of you that have had radiation after a lumpectomy, how long after the surgery did you start your radiation treatments?

My mom is trying to make plans to be down here toward the end of my treatment and I have no idea at this point what to tell her. My surgery was October 12th and I don't get to see my medical oncologist until November 10th. I HATE the waiting!!

Thanks,
Cindy

Comments

• Tux
    Tux Member Posts: 544
    Options
    I started rads 3 weeks & 1
    I started rads 3 weeks & 1 day after lumpectomey. I did not see a medical onc. until after rads. They really "rushed" me because I am a teacher & they wanted to get as much as possible done before school started. I am glad it happened so quickly. I hardly had time to think & I got it over with.

Good luck in your treatment.
  • AnneFrank
    AnneFrank Member Posts: 5
    Options
    Radiation after surgery
    Hi Cindy,

My lumpectomy was Oct 5th. I saw my radiation oncologist on Oct 23rd. In order to have more time to heal I won't go back until 11 Nov for the measurement appt. Then maybe by the week before Thanksgiving I will start the radiation. I agree with you about the waiting. From the urgency of needing a 2nd mammagram, to the ultra sound, biopsy then the diagnosis...surgery and now things feel like they have slowed down. Uncertainty is hard too.

I wish you well.
  • AnneFrank
    AnneFrank Member Posts: 5
    Options
    Tux said:

I started rads 3 weeks & 1
    I started rads 3 weeks & 1 day after lumpectomey. I did not see a medical onc. until after rads. They really "rushed" me because I am a teacher & they wanted to get as much as possible done before school started. I am glad it happened so quickly. I hardly had time to think & I got it over with.

Good luck in your treatment.

How many treatments did you
    How many treatments did you have?
  • DebbyM